Reflections From The Bible And Life

Be Shepherds Of God To One Another

Acts 20:28-38; Psalm 68:29-36; John 17:11-19

“Keep watch over yourselves and over all the flock, of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers, to shepherd the church of God that he obtained with the blood of his own Son.” – (Acts 20:28)

I know some people who have been guides for me at times when I was blinded by sin. The most important ones are my parents. They have watched over me and my sisters, and they taught us God’s ways. It is by their great faith and examples that we were brought up with good moral values. Now with the Holy Spirit guiding them, my parents have started reaching out to other lost flocks of God, the poor community in San Simon, Pampanga and Bagong Silang, Caloocan city.

We are taught that “it is better to give than to receive.” Just as my parents have shown how it is to give, I have to give to others too, and share to them what wisdom I’ve learned. Just as they have been God’s shepherds to us, we should be God’s shepherds to one another as well.

“You know for yourselves that I worked with my own hands to support myself and my companions. In all this I have given you an example that by such work we must support the weak, remembering the words of the Lord Jesus, for he himself said, “It is more blessed to give than to receive.” -(Acts 20:34-35)

God wants us to literally do His work and not just do recited prayers and sit and do nothing in this world. We have to work to make a difference in other people’s lives. The people that we see everyday on the streets, the people that we don’t know, the homeless strangers, the dirty beggars, and all others. They are all God’s people, and our brothers and sisters too. This commitment referred to in Acts 20:34-35 is not a one-time event. It is a lifetime commitment that we do to help one another as God’s children and as God’s shepherds to one another.

Leave a comment