Reflections From The Bible And Life

Lose It To Gain It

Hi! I am Jason. I am a sinner. I am not proud of this, but I am. The Lord gave me so much through my parents and my family, and I wasted all these opportunities, for I didn’t know any better. The Lord constantly tested me if I could be entrusted with His blessings, be ready for relationships, and I have constantly failed, not because the blessings were a curse for me, but because I was too immature, not in the right frame of mind, didn’t possess the right attitude, and I have not realized what I needed to realize. I had to be brought down on my knees for transformation to take place. Thank God for the grace Jesus has given us through His great sacrifice and gift of eternal salvation, for those who believe in it and in Jesus. Because of Jesus, I didn’t lose hope. I believed in Him and He equipped me with what I need to be able to fully appreciate and make full use of all the blessings that would come my way.

I had to be given some taste of what life would be and then lose it, so that I would be brought down on my knees, and shift my focus from myself to God. For quite some time, my world was all about me. Now that I’m humbled down, I have come to realize that everything happens because the Lord allows things to happen, good or bad. We have no control over anything. We can do our best and still experience the worse, if God wills it to be. We are equipped by God to do what we are designed to do. Beyond that, we can do nothing. So if there is any praising, thanking and honoring to be done, it is not us, but to God. If I haven’t experienced my worst, I would not have realized all these, with all the distractions around me. Bad things happen for a good reason. We just have to trust in His goodness.

By reading the bible, I am constantly reminded of how special each of us are, for God breathed life into us through the Holy Spirit, and made us in command over all things on earth, desires to have an intimate relationship with us, and even sacrificed a part of Him, His only Son, so that we may be saved from Satan’s cursed path. Right from the start, God knew what would happen, but He allowed us free will because He loved us so much and He longed to see us flock to Him on our own, in love, and not out of despair or rage. All the other creatures reveal His heavenly glory.

I believe He knows what He is doing, and His time is not of our time. While we may grow impatient and impulsive at times, God is patient, very accurate, and He knows when the timing is perfect. So, if there is something that we may have been asking for and have not received yet, let us be patient. Perhaps there is something that we need to realize yet, understand, or there are things beyond our knowledge that makes the delayed gratification justifiable and timing, perfect.

There are also people who think they are on the right path, but pretty soon find themselves playing gods and stealing all the glory from Him. Be careful of your motives. We have to remain humble and know that we are not made to judge one another, to belittle others, boast ourselves, elevate our self-esteem and ego, and other selfish motives. Make sure we speak with truth, and even when in truth, make sure we do it lovingly, and not to gain praises from others. Do not let the left hand know what the right hand is doing. Before we talk, some people already know what to tell us, for they have premeditated thoughts, and words, ready to roll out from the tongue like a machine gun. Some people talk as if they are prophets and preach, point fingers and condemn others. While their intentions are good they don’t listen well. Hence they might not understand what is really going on. Everything is just happening in the head. I was once like this. I was so full of hatred and overly cautious with strangers as I have been fooled too many times by people who I have regarded as friends. A little praise from others and we get swell-headed easily, forgetting that God has a hand in everything. He even created everything that you see, including you. He created what you can do or think or say. He allowed you to say the things that you did that deserved praise from others. It is Him that we should thank, and not ourselves.

We are blessed with things that we don’t deserve, yet He gives them to us, simply out of His grace. The many things that we receive, we won’t be able to tell if we are too much involved in our many activities or distracted in life. Many of these are taken for granted, because many of us have become spoiled and accustomed to these that you start to think that these things are necessities and you deserve to have them. The best way to make us focus on the right things is if all the distractions are taken away from us. I am so grateful for this.

The bottom line is let us be humble and know that God has a say in everything. Let us consult Him in our decision-making when the situation calls for it. Let us remember that in every success God is to be thanked for and in every failure there is a good reason and a good outcome, and that God allowed it to happen for a good reason. Trust in the goodness of the Lord and His wisdom, as well as His love for us.

I would like to share Matthew 5, verses 1-12, as spoken by Jesus Himself. It helps us look at our Lord and our life in a different perspective:

Matthew 5

You’re Blessed

5 1-2 When Jesus saw his ministry drawing huge crowds, he climbed a hillside. Those who were apprenticed to him, the committed, climbed with him. Arriving at a quiet place, he sat down and taught his climbing companions. This is what he said:

3 “You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.

4 “You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.

5 “You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are—no more, no less. That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.

6 “You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.

7 “You’re blessed when you care. At the moment of being ‘care-full,’ you find yourselves cared for.

8 “You’re blessed when you get your inside world—your mind and heart—put right. Then you can see God in the outside world.

9 “You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family.

10 “You’re blessed when your commitment to God provokes persecution. The persecution drives you even deeper into God’s kingdom.

11-12 “Not only that—count yourselves blessed every time people put you down or throw you out or speak lies about you to discredit me. What it means is that the truth is too close for comfort and they are uncomfortable. You can be glad when that happens—give a cheer, even!—for though they don’t like it, I do! And all heaven applauds. And know that you are in good company. My prophets and witnesses have always gotten into this kind of trouble.

Leave a Reply

