Reflections From The Bible And Life

Do What He Tells You

1 John 5:14-31; Psalm 149:1-9; John 2:1-11

In every action movie wherein a good character dies, he struggles to say his last words to his loved one and in most cases, he fails to complete his statements as he runs out of breath and dies, leaving the viewers anxious to know what those last words were. Indeed, the last few words that we say on earth are the most important ones.

If we recall the wedding at Cana, mother Mary’s last few words that can be found in the Scriptures were, “Do whatever He tells you”.  She dedicated her life to Him and never led us to worship her. She always led us to Him.

After a meaningful family group therapy session with a psychologist, I have come to realize that I still have a lot of transformation to do in my life. I have a lot of defects in my personality, all which are rooted up to selfishness and lack of concern for others. If I were to ask myself this question: “Am I doing what the Lord is telling me to do”, I’m sure I would answer “no”.

Reading the bible and supplement and blogging out my reflections are not enough to be considered as doing what I’m being told to do. I realize that if there are would be any changes that I should make, it should start from my actions towards the people I love most, my family, working towards others, and not the other way around. But ultimately it should start from within me.

If anybody wants to deal with us no matter how rotten we’ve become, it’s because they feel God’s love, and want to return that love to Him by loving us. We, too should be like that.

How about you? Are you doing what Jesus is telling you to do?

Leave a Reply

