Reflections From The Bible And Life

Are We Blind?

This fable is taken from Aesop’s Fables, as translated by George Fyler Townsend.

The old Woman and the Physician

AN OLD WOMAN having lost the use of her eyes, called in a Physician to heal them, and made this bargain with him in the presence of witnesses: that if he should cure her blindness, he should receive from her a sum of money; but if her infirmity remained, she should give him nothing. This agreement being made, the Physician, time after time, applied his salve to her eyes, and on every visit took something away, stealing all her property little by little. And when he had got all she had, he healed her and demanded the promised payment. The Old Woman, when she recovered her sight and saw none of her goods in her house, would give him nothing. The Physician insisted on his claim, and, as she still refused, summoned her before the Judge. The Old Woman, standing up in the Court, argued: “This man here speaks the truth in what he says; for I did promise to give him a sum of money if I should recover my sight: but if I continued blind, I was to give him nothing. Now he declares that I am healed. I on the contrary affirm that I am still blind; for when I lost the use of my eyes, I saw in my house various chattels and valuable goods; but now, though he swears I am cured of my blindness I am not able to see a single thing in it”

I think we could identify ourselves with the old woman. We oftentimes fail to see God’s hand at work in everything around us, and we take them for granted. Instead, we focus on every bad but little thing that happens to us. We fail to see the many blessings that surround us.

We strive for the things of this world like fame, popularity, material wealth, acceptance by others, and the feeling of belonging and respect in this world. Yet, we feel empty when we achieve all these. Things of this world just don’t make us feel contented. When we have something, we want even more of it, and it becomes an obsession. This obsession doesn’t make us feel at peace though, but only makes us feel we need even more. There is no end to this.

Sometimes, all we need is actually all that we have been blessed with, if we just keep our eyes peeled and focus on what we have and what we can do, instead on what we don’t have and what we cannot do.

God blesses us in different ways, and everyone is unique with a special purpose. No one is built the same. We can’t compare ourselves to others.

If we focus on God’s love and be thankful for what we have, as well as make full use of what we have, we will realize that we aren’t lacking anything at all, and God has provided everything for us.

Be thankful for what we have.

Leave a Reply

