Reflections From The Bible And Life

Never Feel Hopeless

Acts 11:19-26; Psalm 87:1-7; John 10:22-30;

Jesus once said as stated in John 10:27-29, “My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one will snatch them out of my hand. What my Father has given me is greater than all else, and no one can snatch it out of the Father’s hand.The Father and I are one.” The powerful statements made by Jesus are assurances that He will never abandon us no matter what trials we face, and no matter how hopeless and helpless we feel. He spoke with very strong conviction in the light of His love for us.

How do we become His sheep? We must believe that Jesus has given us eternal life, follow His ways, and have faith in Him. As long as Jesus’s love resides in our hearts and is the core of our every thought, action, and word, we shall never perish. If He must produce a miracle to make one lost soul believe and change his ways, He will. He will also do the impossible just to pave the way for you.

God loves us no matter how lost we are. As long as we exert efforts in correcting ourselves, He will facilitate you in every step of the way. I was once a lost soul who was carefree and very much involved with the pleasures of this world. Drugs and alcohol, I’ve done them all. I was really deeply hooked into drugs that time that I was already living for the day, and living so that I can get enough stuff to go by for each day. Those were my priorities. I made drugs my god.

The Lord saw how helpless and hopeless I was, so I guess He had to do something. First, I accidentally left a glass pipe in the restroom at work. It had crystal meth residue in it. My employers were talking about it the next day, and we had a general meeting. We were going to be laid off because of that incident. Somehow by the grace of God, I was filled with compassion for my workmates and guilt, so I admitted that it was mine. From that day on, it was all downhill for me. I lost my job, my car, and had no means to pay rent for my apartment. I lost my shelter, and I started living on the streets.

At that lowest point in my life, after a few weeks, I started praying to God. I was asking Him to help me, and I was telling Him that I would do anything just so that I could have my life back. I claimed that I was His son, and I knew that He will not allow me to rot away just like that. I also mentioned that I knew that everything that happened had a purpose, and I have learned my lesson well. Just as I finished my prayer and started to fall asleep on the dumpster, I receive a call from my parents on a prepaid cellphone which I still had, and it was my dad. I was surprised to received a call from him because we have not been in contact with each other for so long and I kept on changing prepaid sims because they keep expiring because I don’t have money to load them for months at times, and prepaid sim cards expire after 2 months of not reloading.

I asked my dad how he got my number, he mentioned that my sister in Chicago gave it to him, which was impossible, for I had not communicated with her either since they all discovered I was back on drugs. I even confirmed with my sis if the info dad gave me was true. She said the same thing as I thought. That in itself was a miracle. God worked through text. It was a mysterious text received by my dad. To make the story short, I’m now back in the arms of my biological dad who gladly took me back, just as the Father would with us. It reminds me of the parable of the prodigal son.

So you see, nothing is impossible with God, as long as we strive to be his sheep.

Leave a Reply

