Reflections From The Bible And Life

Food That Lasts

Acts 6:8-15; Psalm 119:23-24, 26-27, 29-30; John 6:22-29;

There was a time when I was struggling to survive day every day. I was down and out (during my junkie years) and almost penniless. I had no means to get money for my next meal, and no sleeping accommodations, and nowhere to take care of my personal hygiene. I remember being at peace despite the fact that I knew I was not in control anymore, for God always provided for me during that time. I was even prepared for whatever that came my way, even if it meant dying from hunger. I wouldn’t even think about stealing or obtaining things that were not rightfully mine. I was a respectful person despite my poor condition. It was with God’s grace that prompted some friends of mine to help me out every now and then. I would be offered temporary shelter for some days, which even lasted up to months with my closest friends in NJ. God always provided for me.

When I started to work and earn money again, I completely forgot about my past and started becoming reliant on my security on money. Whenever my salary was diminishing, I would clam up at home so that I won’t be tempted to spend the rest of my salary and be able to survive till the next pay day. I would tend to panic when my funds are becoming low.

After reading the bible today, I realized that I have shifted my dependency from God to money, which is wrong. Money can easily disappear, but we will never run out of God’s blessings anytime. Jesus Himself did say in John 6:27, “Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.”

The food that Jesus mentioned is our faith in Him and honoring and practicing His teachings. We have to believe in Him and believe that God will provide for us as long as we remain faithful to Him. When He blesses, believe me, He blesses abundantly, more than you can ever imagine! Those who cling on to power, money, authority etc will never have much, but those who cling to God, will have much more than what they ask for! 🙂

Leave a Reply

