Reflections From The Bible And Life

What Makes A True Confession?

Hosea 6:1-6; Psalm 51:3-4, 18-19; Luke 18:9-14;

I realize that every time I go to confession, I almost always end up confessing to the same sins that I commit every year. While it’s true that there are many other sins that I don’t commit, I do sin. To make it worse, I do the same thing even after confessing. From the readings from the bible, I realize that I’ve not been sincere in confessing my sins, for I always end up doing the same thing over and over.

True confession calls for genuine sorrow and regret for sinning against God. While I may have been regretful at the time of confession, I have not made an effort on correcting myself.

While I know that the Lord is happy when I make an effort to come to Him whenever I fall into sin, I also know that He will be much happier if I make an effort to stop committing it as a result of my repentance, rather than a much short-lived repentance. It’s almost similar to a person feeling indebted and filled with gratitude to a person because he was given a huge amount of loan by that person. But when the time comes for the loaner to pay the loan, he has already forgotten his indebtedness and gratitude and even fails to pay off his loan.

I think true love and obedience are shown by what we do after we leave the confessional box.

The Lord says through Hosea 6:6, “For I desire steadfast love and not sacrifice, the knowledge of God rather than burnt-offerings.”

2 responses

  1. Just remember, we all sin. Romans 3:23 Every time Israel sinned and worshipped idols, God took them back EVERY time.

    April 2, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    • Yes, everybody knows how forgiving and great God’s love is. However, we want to return that love to Him by trying not to hurt Him. If we already know that we have the tendency to do the same sins repeatedly, then we should do something about it. đŸ™‚

      April 2, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Leave a Reply

