Reflections From The Bible And Life

Who Do We Have To Save Ourselves From?

Isaiah 1:10, 16-20; Psalm 50:8-9, 16-17, 21, 22; Matthew 23:1-12

I realize that life is really simple, but we make things complicated by sinning. From Adam and Eve’s original sin, to Sodom and Gomorrah, to the people and Roman soldiers who killed Jesus, to our now complicatedly evolved social structures and family structures, our life became more complicated because of our own doing. God didn’t lay a single hand on any of it. It’s all our fault.

The devil can be really crafty. We could commit sin and not know that we’re doing it. It can be as subtle as the longing for recognition to the point of being showy to others and not being genuine with your actions and feelings, or smoking cigarettes, drinking alcohol, or anything else habitual. Sins borne out of insecurities and habitual sins are the hardest to kick off, but with God’s grace, nothing is impossible. If we look at the world with renewed eyes, we should easily know that there is nothing to be insecure about either.

I myself lost my job, lost my car to the bank lender, lost my house, got into jail, etc. because I chose to be a slave to crystal meth. I replaced God with drugs, and everything went downhill from there. God created man and woman to be together. Today, we have women with women, and men with men, gay and lesbian, aside from man and woman relationships. The world now is much more complicated than ever before. We have a lot of single parents who accidentally gave birth due to giving in to stupid 15-minute pleasures, and lack of foresight and wisdom. In the Philippines, it’s very common for me to meet single parents nowadays. I think with the condition of the country now with widespread corruption, drugs, open sexual relationships treated like dating, and others, the country and perhaps some other countries as well, are worse than what Sodom And Gomorrah was back in the days. We are just lucky still that God is still tolerating us.

If you were to ask me who we have to save ourselves from, I’d say myself. All the problems that I had in life was caused by me.

Let us pray that we may consumed basking in the light of His love.

One response

  1. Pingback: Wash yourselves clean! (Isaiah 1:16a) « Factum non iustus lacuna…

Leave a Reply

