Reflections From The Bible And Life

God Saves

Sirach 51:12-20; Psalm 19:8-11; Mark 11:27-33;

I once had a friend who was basically good and was close to me, but he lost his way when he turned to drugs. Anyway, to make the long story short, after being out of touch with him for several months, he suddenly knocks on my door. When I opened the door, I saw this youthful but stressed young man, who turned out to be my friend. He looked so lost, and he confessed to me that he had nowhere to go. This was sometime during winter of ’06 in NJ, and it was cold. I took pity on him and I let him in. I shared my room with him, and we both went to bed, so I thought. He was actually awake without my knowledge. I was too sleepy to notice anything. But I started hearing him mumbling words of hatred and he suddenly started hitting me with his huge and heavy belt buckle while holding to the other end of the belt. He kept hitting my head and body. I had mixed emotions. I was feeling sorry for him, and at the same time, I wanted to stop him before he knocked me out unconsciously, but I didn’t. I started praying quietly to God in desperation, and after a few minutes, he suddenly stopped hitting me, I put my trust in God and fell asleep with him beside me, standing. The next day, I woke up and examined my head and body. Just like a miracle, I was not bruised. And in case you want to know what happened to my friend, he was arrested for the murder of our common friend a few days before he knock on my door. That I didn’t even know.

God truly saves us even in times of desperation. As long as we seek Him and follow His ways.

Leave a Reply

